Baking cakes and taking names

25 Oct

Today I had the worst baking experience if my last year of baking escapades. I prepared a red velvet batter from scratch. I sifted the flour, whisked in the cocoa, mixed together the sugar and oil and added plenty of red food coloring. I decided it would be cute to make a giant cupcake instead of 24 average cupcakes because as they say in Texas, go big or go home. (after writing that I wonder…does anyone actually say that in Texas?) I did some research on batter measurement, prepared the silicone molds and filled them up. I placed them in the oven and sat down to an afternoon of the office, or so I thought. I realize half way through that I forgot to put both the baking soda and vinegar in the mix, two key aspects of the red velvet recipe. Batter was thrown, words were said and all I can say is I won’t be bringing red velvets to the get together tonight. Sorry Fred.

Leave a comment