Hacked and Whacked

25 Oct

I’ve been hacked. Chris has taken over my blog, the last 3 posts are his…not mine, although I would like a present…

Something has been really bothering me lately. With the tax to film a movie in Massachusetts rather low, a lot of films and tv shows are based here. I, personally, love hearing the actors butcher the token Boston Accent (or what the rest of the country believes is the token Boston Accent) but one aspect of these entertainment ventures has begun to baffle me. The theme music.

It is rare for a movie/tv show based in Boston to have music that is no Irish based. Any Ben Affleck directed flick has the newest Dropkick Murphys’ album as the soundtrack. Even his most recent venture, The Town, opens with an Irish sounding diddy. The Departed, another great Boston based film, is promoted with ‘I’m Shippin’ Up to Boston’ by the Dropkick Murphys. I was also watching that new show, Rizzoli and Isles, which opens with an Irish sounding song today, and if you ever catch an episode of the greatest reality show ever, Lobsterman, you’ll hear a nice little Irish tune.

I understand that Boston has always had a large Irish population, and that’s totally cool. I just wonder why every show/movie places that Irish tone. I have no problem with it, of course, but as an Italian-American I must say, there are many different aspects of Boston.

But until then, I don’t mind a little Dropkick Murphys now and then, I’d sure love to see a movie with ‘The State of Massachusetts’ as the theme song!

Leave a comment