Giving thanks…

30 Dec

This blog first came to mind on Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, I had to work overnight on Thanksgiving. Working retail means the Friday after Thanksgiving is busy…no matter what other option may come your way. As I left my aunt’s to drive to my boyfriend’s house, I decided to reflect upon what I’m thankful for…actually thankful for. And then again on the way to work, I continued to make a list in my head. Although I cannot really remember what was on said list at the time, I think its important to make a list at the end of the year…and to reflect next year and see what changes and what stays the same.

So here goes. I’m thankful {for} (in no particular order):

  1. My mom. Although often I am a jerk to her and we don’t get along, she is always there for me. She humors my constant questions and gives me answers to hush my anxiety.
  2. My boyfriend Chris. He is really good to me. Not only does he give me great gifts (a trip to Puerto Rico) but he is genuinely good to me. He treats me well and doesn’t let any of the superficial things matter.
  3. My nephews Brady and Riley. These two little boys bring me more joy and happiness than they could know. From Brady calls to say ‘Auntie Jamie, its raining outside’ to Riley does his raising the roof dance, these boys always know how to make me laugh and brighten up any day.
  4. My sisters Jenn and Melissa. They help me often, and as we’ve gotten older we have grown a lot closer.
  5. That I have a healthy grandmother. Although Nana is still recovering from her surgeries, I am happy to have her healthy and alive. She is 91 years old, and has 16 grandchilren (not counting spouses), 12 great grand children (with 2 on the way) and 1 great great grand child. She is loved by so many people. I am thankful that she has lived such a long life.
  6. For my job…yes my job at Old Navy…in retail…yes my retail job. I’m thankful that even in this awful economy I have a way to make ends meet at a rather enjoyable job with some pretty awesome co-workers.
  7. My college education, that was fully funded by my parents. I am so grateful to be able to go to a college where I could do my best, and love my four years. I am so lucky to live in a part of the country where people are expected to go to college, not a place where college is a luxury. I am also grateful that my parents fully funded my education. I’m not trying to be a snob here, but I see my fellow Gen Yer’s trying to pay their loans, and I realize how lucky I am. From tuition, to books, to room and board my parents footed the bill and I will FOREVER be indebted to them for that. Thanks mom and dad.
  8. That I live a safe life. That I can do what I want without being scared.
  9. That I have some great friends to support me.
  10. That I have technology in my life.
  11. That I know God and love him.
  12. That I have food to eat and a place to sleep.
  13. That I have psoriasis (sometimes). Although I’d love to wear short sleeves all the time, and to not have dry skin…but it has made me more compassionate for people. You can’t control being born with psoriasis, but you can control that effect it has on your life.
  14. That I have talents and can utilize them.
  15. And many more things…to be added later.

Leave a comment